About RECE

Reconceptualizing Early Childhood Education (RECE) is dedicated to facilitating exchanges about work that challenge mainstream ideas regarding how young children learn and grow. In theory and in practice, RECE members question universal assumptions that mask the realities of local contexts and conditions.

event-map-sample

RECE 30th Anniversary Webinar Series

In this virtual forum to mark RECEs’ 30th Anniversary, we bring together members of the international RECE community to explore answers to the question What should matter currently in early care and education? What are critical questions today? Drawing from international and intergenerational expertise, panel members will discuss some of the most pressing issues in ECEC. Also, how have the issues changed over time? Are many issues and questions similar to those addressed 30 years ago? When RECE had its 20th anniversary, one of the founding members of RECE asked the question, but what thinking or actions did we “cut open,” rupture, or change? As a community, we continue to reflect on this question today.

Why RECE Still Matters

26 January 2022 EU / US • 27 January 2022 Australsia
11:00 AM Los Angeles • 2:00 PM New York • 7:00 PM London • 8:00 Auckland

Announcements

RECE Hybrid Conference 2022

Being Together in/with place:

Reimagining pedagogies in transformational times.

Conference location:

University of British Columbia

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

Dates: 

June 23-26, 2022

vancouver
Vancouver

In the midst of and in attunement to ongoing crises around the world, the 2022 Conference will offer members of the RECE community and their allies the opportunity to come together to reaffirm their sense of community, agency, creativity and commitment to co-creating a more livable, equitable, just, caring and welcoming world for children, families and early childhood educators around the globe. The conference takes the theme of place as a multilayered relational construct that can help us open up, hold, and sustain generative conversations across disciplines and from our different locations.

A call for in person or on-line conference sessions and papers will be available on the RECE website in early December, 2021.

Host Chairs: Iris Berger  and Mari Pighini 

Program Chairs: Rachel Langford  and Sonja Arndt 

RECE Steering Committee

RECE blog image

RECE Turns 30 – Save the Date

Dear Colleagues, We are very excited to share with you updates from the RECE Steering Committee. RECE Turns 30 – Save the Date It is hard to believe, but RECE turns 30 this year. While we are not going to be together celebrating at a face-to-face conference, we are preparing three (3) virtual events with fabulous panellists and moderators: October 27th, November

Read More »

RECE Blog