2020 Rhedding-Jones Outstanding Dissertation Award

Jeanette Rhedding-Jones

Providing a forum for critical scholarship is at the heart and soul of RECE; it is central to our raison d’être. Every year we celebrate and recognise the excellent research, scholarship and activism of a growing global doctoral community. We do this through the annual Rhedding-Jones Outstanding Dissertation Award, bestowed at the annual conference on a graduate doctoral student in recognition of a doctoral thesis that makes a significant contribution to Reconceptualising Early Childhood Education.

Although we could not meet in in person in 2020, we found it important to continue the tradition and issued a call for nominations. In response, we received, as every year, a number of excellent nominations, each one of them contributing to:

  • Introducing alternative theoretical and / or methodological approaches
  • Reconceptualising early childhood research and policy
  • Re-imagining and / or re-orienting pedagogical practices that directly support young children, their families, educators and / or communities


Today, we are delighted to announce the recipients!

2020 Rhedding-Jones Outstanding Dissertation Award Recipients

Dr Claudia Andrea Diaz-Diaz
(University of British Columbia, BC, Canada) for her doctoral dissertation titled Places that Speak

Dr Luz Marina Hoyos Vivas
(Concordia University, Montreal, Quebec, Canada) for her doctoral dissertation titled Honouring Cultural Differences in early childhood education and care: A participatory research project with Colombian Embera Chami Indigenous Community

Dr Yulida Pangastuti
(University of Auckland, New Zealand) for her doctoral dissertation titled Expansion of early childhood education in Indonesia: Finding voices, telling stories

Dr Ayesha Rabadi-Raol
(Teachers College, Columbia University, NY, USA) for her doctoral dissertation titled But what if you just listened to the experience of an immigrant teacher?

Due to the ongoing pandemic, we can only present the awards remotely at this stage. We will celebrate the outstanding achievements and contributions of our awardees when we meet in person, at the next RECE conference.

In the meantime, we will invite the RECE community to engage with Ayesha, Claudia, Luz Marina and Yulida in one of our next RECE webinars. Details will be announced here in due course.

With gratitude and heartfelt congratulations

The 2020 Rhedding-Jones Outstanding Dissertation Award Committee

Sonja Arndt, Margarita Ruiz Guerrero, Mathias Urban (chair)